Francais
Council for Accreditation of Canadian University
Programs in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology

Governance Structure


The Council for Accreditation of Canadian University Programs in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (CACUP-ASLP) is a joint initiative of three partner groups: Canadian Council of University Programs in Communication Sciences and Disorders (CCUP-CSD), Canadian Association of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists (CASLPA), and the Canadian Alliance of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Regulators (CAASPR). The three groups are responsible for setting the policies, procedures, and standards for CACUP-ASLP, using a broad consultation process. Each partner group is represented on the Accreditation Secretariat, a body responsible for overseeing administration of the CACUP-ASLP on an ongoing basis and implementation of the accreditation reviews annually.


Accreditation reviews of individual university programs are coordinated by an Accreditation Board. The Accreditation Board is responsible for accreditation decisions. It is formed by the Accreditation Secretariat and comprised of five members as follows:


• The Head of a Canadian university program in communication sciences and disorders who is a voting member of CCUP-CSD;

• An academic faculty member from one of the Canadian CSD programs who represents the discipline of either speech-language pathology or audiology;

• A clinical educator from one of the Canadian CSD programs who is either an academic coordinator of clinical education or a clinical educator familiar with the university's academic environment and represents the discipline of either speech-language pathology or audiology;

• A member of the CASLPA Standards Advisory Committee who represents the professional associations and who is either an audiologist or a speech-language pathologist;

• A member from the Canadian Alliance of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Regulators of who is an audiologist or a speech-language pathologist.


The Accreditation Board makes decisions about accreditation on the basis of the self-study material submitted by the program being reviewed, a report and recommendation of a site-review team, and the program's response to the site-reviewers' report. Site reviewers are selected for each review by the Accreditation Board and must be approved by the program under review.


Appeals of accreditation decisions are heard by an ad hoc Appeals Committee appointed by the Secretariat. The Appeals Committee consists of the following three members:

• A representative of the CCUP-CSD

• A representative of the CASLPA Executive

• A representative of the CAASPR


All administrative activities of the Secretariat and the Accreditation Board are supported by a contracted administrative services provider.


The governance structure of CACUP-ASLP is shown in this diagram.

English
Conseil d'agrément des programmes universitaires canadiens en audiologie et en orthophonie

Structure de gouvernance


Le Conseil d'agrément des programmes universitaires canadiens en audiologie et en orthophonie (CAPUC-AO) est une initiative conjointe d'un partenariat de trois groupes : le Conseil canadien des programmes universitaires en science de la communication humaine (CCPU-SCH), l'Association canadienne des orthophonistes et audiologistes (l'ACOA), et l'Alliance Canadienne des Organismes de Réglementation en orthophonie et en audiologie (ACOROA). Par un vaste processus de consultation, les trois groupes sont responsables d'établir les politiques, les procédures et les normes du CAPUC-AO. Chaque partenaire du groupe est représenté au Secrétariat d'agrément, un organisme responsable de superviser sur une base permanente, l'administration du CAPUC-AO et l'application annuelle de l'évaluation des demandes d'agrément.


L'évaluation des demandes d'agrément des programmes universitaires est coordonnée par un Conseil d'agrément. Ce conseil est responsable des décisions concernant l'agrément. Il est formé par le Secrétariat d'agrément et est constitué de cinq membres comme suit:


• Le directeur d'un programme universitaire canadien en science de la communication humaine qui est membre votant du CCPU-SCH;

• Un membre du corps professoral de l'un des programmes canadiens SCH qui représente la discipline d'audiologie ou la discipline d'orthophonie;

• Un éducateur clinique de l'un des programmes canadiens SCH qui est soit un coordonnateur universitaire d'enseignement clinique, soit un éducateur clinique familiarisé avec le milieu universitaire qui représente la discipline d'audiologie ou la discipline d'orthophonie;

• Un membre du Comité consultatif des normes de l'ACOA qui représente les associations professionnelles et qui est soit audiologiste soit orthophoniste;

• Un membre de l'Alliance Canadienne des Organismes de Réglementation en orthophonie et en audiologie (ACOROA)


Le Conseil d'agrément prend les décisions concernant l'agrément en tenant compte des documents d'auto-analyse soumis par le programme à évaluer, d'un rapport et des recommandations d'une équipe d'évaluation ainsi que des mesures correctives du programme en réponse au rapport d'évaluation. Pour chaque évaluation, les membres de l'équipe sont sélectionnés par le Conseil d'agrément et doivent être approuvés par le programme soumis à l'évaluation.


Les appels des décisions d'agrément sont entendus par un Comité d'appel ad hoc, nommé par le Secrétariat. Le Comité d'appel consiste de trois membres comme suit:

• Un représentant du CCPU-SCH

• Un représentant de l'ACOA

• Un représentant de l'ACOROA


Toute activité administrative du Secrétariat et du Conseil d'agrément est soutenue par un fournisseur de services administratifs sous contrat. Le schéma complémentaire illustre la structure de gouvernance du CAPUC-AO.